Changes

Feeling Old

My friend called me to help her eight year old daughter with her homework. I was asked questions about how different things were when I was eight. This was kind of hard because I don’t know what the standard is for the average child is this days. I enjoyed looking that far back and realizing, lots of things have changed.

Back in the day was a simpler time. We had the box tv with my super nintendo hooked up to it. The games were cartridges and the controllers were plugged in. I had a cassette player at the time but walkmans were available. My babysitters and other adults had beepers. I had to rewind my favourite movies. It wasn’t until I was a teenager when dvds became a thing. Pay phones were everywhere. Although I had to sit in the back seat, I didn’t need a car seat. At home, the Spice Girls were my thing.

I watched a bunch of cartoons with my brother. Justice League, Loony Toons, Pinky and Brain, and The Animaniacs. I remember always taking care of my him. We were like best friends. It was nice. The most quoted movie on the playground was The Three Ninjas. When we would act out scenes, I was Emily.

I now have a better idea of how my parents felt when I was growing up. I also have a better idea of how much everything changes. The world is constantly evolving. I wonder if we will still have mp3 players. Will our smart phones, mp3 players, and tablets really merge into one device? Yes, smart phones these days do everything at the cost of battery life and memory. We are getting there and I look forward to all that is to come. Will google glasses be the normal?

How will all this change the way kids go to school? If textbooks are so expensive, will they use a tablet instead? I have heard of this before, but will it be mainstream? Will they even go to class? Skype and online learning platforms are great. As long as everyone had an internet connection, how much money would that save? At the same time, what would bus drivers do for employment? Questions that only time can answer I guess.

Cheers to you, life, random projects, and  NaBloPoMo Day Twelve! 🙂

4 comments
    • Hello Alick Stark!! Thank you for you comment! LOL 😀

      • Is welcome 🙂

  1. Mom said:

    😄

Leave a Reply

